How I Will Feel If I Have to Shoot Someone in the Face – Contrasting Views

How about the first three shot in the forehead?
Number One: It was night, he was shooting. Only target illuminated by street lamps was his face. One round just above the nose and eyebrow line.
Numbers Two and Three: During an armed robbery in progress that I walked into, in uniform. First one shot but missed, caught me by surprise. In the head. Then the second popped up from an aisle next to the first guy. In the head.
It happens. It doesn’t go over big with the bosses who think you did the shooting “on purpose”, but it happens. In the very first incident, I also noticed something later. My vision choked down, and only the face in the lighting was a definitive target. I was punished. No badge. Rubber gun squad for one year behind the desk, answering phones. In the second shooting, my first night back on patrol (my luck…) within four hours after roll call. You guessed it. I felt like Steve McQueen, The Cooler King, no badge, rubber gun squad for a year. At least the third member of that robbery team, I double tapped center mass. After the third shooting, three gunmen, a warrant service gone bad as they walked into a drug operation, two dead, one escaped. I walked into the captain’s office and put my shield and gun on his desk, and he threw me out, telling me never to volunteer my tin and gun, again to him. Perp number three of that team died the next day at a hospital. He refused to have the bullet removed and doctors called the local precinct on the other side of the county. Autopsy, and ballistics indicated the bullet was from my service revolver. Sounds great and I was also being made sergeant so they figured I could get promoted and get out of their hair. Not even a year later, the brass slowed me down by kicking me to a squad and chaining me to a desk, answering phones, doing paperwork. Then I got passed over for promotion to lieutenant three times, as a kick in the ass. Dead Ended. Shootings happen fast. Time slows down and seconds seem like minutes. Targets appear when they appear and you must be ready, whether it is center mass or any other part of the body. I think the whole trick to any of it remains, you must train yourself to be calm and remain calm, all through it, and afterwards. Learn to think under stress. Introduce stress into your training. Early on, I had two sergeants who were friends, they would go to the range with me sometimes, and start shouting in my ear as I was shooting. It freaked some people out, but my groups were very tight. They smiled and explained that I operate best, under stress. Both of them were Marines. Training begins immediately, introducing stress. Combat is stressful but training was harder. Skill levels with safe training jump by plateaus. It’s not one size fits all, and targets, especially the kind on the streets, shooting at you, present rapid moments of opportunity to halt their actions.

Gun Culture 2.0

Weekends are a time when I catch up on listening to podcasts. I subscribe to nearly 40 podcasts, of which half are gun podcasts, and so I am usually in catch up mode.

This past weekend I was struck by two very opposing views of defensive gun use presented on two different podcasts. The first was John Johnston’s Ballistic Radio podcast with Melody Lauer co-hosting (Episode 215, 2 July 2017, “The Day the Music Died”).

Lauer presented a question that a listener wrote in: “Why should I avoid demonstrations? I mean, I have a concealed weapon to defend myself from someone there who attacks me.”

Johnston responded:

So, I think that this is often times lost sight of by everybody, but I want everybody to just bear with me for a second and consider: If you legally shoot somebody, like they give you no recourse and you shoot them, that’s…

View original post 734 more words

One response to “How I Will Feel If I Have to Shoot Someone in the Face – Contrasting Views

  1. Pingback: How I Will Feel If I Have to Shoot Someone in the Face – Contrasting Views – Bob's Opinion