Ammunition Accuracy Requirements 101

Sierra Bullets

Written by Sierra Bullets Chief Ballistician Tommy Todd

I load and shoot ammunition for a living. In my duties here at Sierra I constantly test bullet accuracy for our production needs. Because of this, I shoot a variety of different calibers and cartridges on a daily basis and a large demand of this shooting is keeping the guns and loads tuned for optimum accuracy. I have a very narrow window of tolerances to maintain in order to provide our customers (you) with the most accurate bullets on the market.

I have learned many tricks and techniques over the years to tuning a load, prepping brass, and cleaning barrels to keep a gun shooting. I often utilize the things I have learned and take them to extreme levels when competing in a shooting event.  I also often ignore most of these things (other than safety) and simplify the process if the…

View original post 631 more words

One response to “Ammunition Accuracy Requirements 101

  1. Pingback: Ammunition Accuracy Requirements 101 – Bob's Opinion