A Pistol Bullet for Deer Season

Sierra Bullets

Written by Sierra Bullets Ballistic Technician Phil Mahin

I have always wanted a lever action rifle chambered in 45 Colt.  I finally got my chance to purchase one last summer that I could use for deer season.  What I found was accurate, but I was able to get velocities that were a lot faster than what is normal for the cartridge. In fact, I was getting 1,700fps from the muzzle and that was verified with our industrial Oehler here at work. There is a good reason for the velocity.  It comes from a combination of a hot magnum primer, a lot of slow burning powder, and a case that is built well enough to hold the high pressure repeatedly. I know you may have a lot of questions about this and I’ll finish this story in my next blog, but for now, I wanted to show you what I found…

View original post 273 more words

Comments are closed.