Gun Stuff 101

Sierra Bullets

Written by Sierra Bullets Chief Ballistician Tommy Todd

I have shot several disciplines of shooting competitions over the years and have learned a few things regarding ammunition and bullet function during this time. Below I will describe a few of the things I have seen and benefited from. Hopefully if you find your situation to be similar you can make changes before experiencing some of these effects.

Gun Cleaning

Frequently the matches I shoot require 40 to 100 shots before a person gets a chance to clean their rifle. Just as frequently, a good shooting match rifle will still shoot very good scores and groups with that many rounds fired through them. However, those guns do not deliver the same accuracy as when they were clean, but the drop-off in accuracy is not a huge change unless a set of accumulative issues arise.

I witnessed a set of problems that…

View original post 622 more words

Comments are closed.