Why Should You Learn Bow Hunting for Survival?

Azweaponcraftprepper

(This is a guest article by Brandon Cox)

Learning survival skills isn’t everyone’s plans as most people rarely plan to become survivals one day. What if the worst happens and you have to hunt for food to survive? Chances are you’re not one of those many people if you’re reading this post. As a modern-day prepper, the idea of bow hunting might not sound ideal but remembers bullets eventually do disappear. You need to learn stealth to survive.

These are the times when you realize a bow is your best option. Tracking your target with the focus on stealth hunting is one of the best skills any prepper can learn. Learning how to use a bow and arrow for hunting is an art of the highest kind that might one day be the only option you’ve got.

When stuck in the wilderness, nothing beats what a bow and arrow…

View original post 851 more words

5 responses to “Why Should You Learn Bow Hunting for Survival?

    • I had hunted eleven years exclusively with a bow. You can do it on your own. I went backwards, first a two-wheel compound bow, until at a competition match, a wheel broke and the arrow spun, discharged, rubbing the right side of my face and just missing my wife who was standing behind me. People gasped. Then I went to recurves. Had a few and made my own tackle. Then the longbows. Then back to recurves. I prefer a rifle, because the long range shots I used to take. Today, under 200 yards is a long shot with a rifle, and the bows sit dormant.
      It’s a journey.

      Liked by 1 person

      • oh no so glad that didn’t turn out worse! Journey – a great description. So much of my desire is nostalgia lol Recall watching my father make his bow, and the arrows – some using arrowheads he found while walking the local fields after being plowed. Wish I had paid more attention 🙂

        Like

        • It’s not hard but, when tillering the bow, it is very critical. I had a very nice Earl Ulrich bow that cracked, then decided to purchase an unfinished stave and tillered it myself. It was sweeter than the finished bow, but that one too, broke.
          On eBay, I look around and there are some nice Hickory bows along with tackle. I made my own Hand-Laid (Flemish) strings with B-50 Dacron. I also got away with common heavy string but it stretched to no end, even with 18 strands. Tedious but not hard to make. If you make arrows, it is very important to have the shafts spined and matched to the bow draw weight and length of pull. I used Port Orford Cedar, but never see that online so maybe they folded up. Anderson Archery, folded up, and I was on a first name basis with them.
          If you just take it easy when you start off, it’s just like whittling, it will come to you. These days, tackle equipment costs a bit more than what it was back in the 1970s and 1980s. I taught my kids. I have dabbled, teaching my grandsons, but they lack interest in it.
          I also got into a bitter argument (or two) with my brothers, because when I stalked deer, my personal rule is, if I can pet the animal, I will not harvest it. Yep, a whole bunch of bucks, does, and fawns, were startled, but I would not harm them. My brothers used to go absolutely berserk when they watched me pet deer. Always cautious, but never had one try to attack me. Of course, my brothers always said that was the jungle coming out of me, but I always said, no, it’s just an enjoyable day happening. I also played with a hawk and shot flu-flu arrows, not at the bird, but into the sky, and would spend an entire day playing with that energetic hawk. From September until the snows, once a week, I would drive to my brother’s farm, and play with the hawk, who was waiting for me. My brother the farmer used to say, “What, you were watching Grizzly Adams, or something?”.
          I always had a good time.

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Why Should You Learn Bow Hunting for Survival? – The way I see things …