The History of Concealed Weapons Laws in the United States, Part 4: The Dawn of the Era of Permitless Carry

Gun Culture 2.0

When I began this blog nearly 5 years ago, I had no idea that I would be talking about the dawn of a new era of concealed carry in the United States. But developments in the past couple of years have forced my hand. Before highlighting those developments, I will review the broad pattern of development in concealed weapon laws for the record .

A very rough dating of various “eras” of concealed carry in the US looks like this:

Briefly, in the early republic, no special licensing was required to bear arms, either openly or concealed.

But beginning with Kentucky in 1813, there was a movement in several southern states to ban the carrying of concealed weapons in public. In time, these prohibitions spread from the south to the rest of the United States…

View original post 511 more words

Comments are closed.