Re-Thinking The Get Home Bag

Better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it.

The Armed Christian

For most of the last couple of decades I had a traditional job, working in an office and for most of that time that office was a good thirty miles from my home. If something like 9/11 happened around here there was a good chance I would be facing a really long walk home.

A bigger concern around here is flooding. There have been a couple of instances where I was unable to get home for eight to ten hours after the rains stopped due to high water. Several coworkers have had to spend several days in the office as high water prevented them from leaving or getting home.

I built my Get Home Bag based on these scenarios. A change of clothes, including socks and underwear, good walking shoes, a few tools and assorted necessities along with enough supplies to keep me fed and somewhat hydrated for up to 48 hours.

View original post 101 more words

Comments are closed.