American Rifleman: January, 2017

The AR7 that I owned was the older one prior to Henry purchasing the company/rights. It was a dismal gun, I am sorry to say, because I bought it with high hopes. I kept it until after the flood of 2012, because I foolishly thought that maybe, someone would come up with a magic wand and remedy the collection of ills, but the AR7 was sour from day one to day last.

Shoot, Camp, Fish

I just finished reading this month’s American Rifleman, and I must say that my favorite article was the regular column, “I Have This Old Gun…” by Garry James.  This article was about the Allen “Dragoon” Pepperbox, and I have been fascinated with pepperboxes ever since the first time I played Monopoly.

I had heard that all barrels fired at once, which I thought was quite awesome and terrifying all at the same time, but this article mentions that this was not always the case, and was often a misfire called a “chainfire.”

I did also enjoy the article titled, “Survivor:  The Unlikely resilience of the AR-7” by Jeremiah Knupp.   I had often wondered if these things really floated (the Marlin Papoose as well), but never had the money nor the courage to find out for myself. Thanks, Mr. Knupp, for answering my question!  I also had no idea that…

View original post 79 more words

Comments are closed.